Friday, May 17, 2013

ICD-10-CM/PCS and Maintaining HIM and Coder Credentials!

Per AAPC, “To ensure employers continue to have confidence in a certified coder’s ability to accurately code the current code sets, AAPC certified members will have two years to pass an open-book, online, unproctored assessment.”
It will measure your understanding of ICD-10-CM format and structure, groupings and categories of codes, ICD-10-CM official guidelines, and coding concepts.
  • Required for all AAPC credential holders (excluding CPPM®, CPCO™, and CIRCC®), recommended for all others working with the new code set
  • Two (2) years to take and pass the assessment, beginning September, 2013 (one year before implementation of ICD-10) and ending December 30, 2016 (one year after implementation)
  • 75 questions, 3.5 hours, open-book, online, unproctored, use any resource available
  • Coders will have two (2) attempts at passing (reaching an 80% score) over a two year window (Oct 1, 2013 – December, 2016) for the $60 administration fee.
  • ICD-10-CM only (ICD-10-PCS will not be covered in the assessment)
  • No CEUs given
Source:  (AAPC, 2014)
AHIMA Certified Professionals are required by CCHIIM to participate in a predetermined number of mandatory baseline educational experiences specific to ICD-10-CM/PCS. These ICD-10-CM/PCS specific CEUs will count as part of all AHIMA certificants’ total CEU requirements for the purpose of recertification. Stated differently, the following CEU requirements will be included as part of each certificants’ total, required CEUs, by credential, per CEU Cycle.
The total number of ICD-10-CM/PCS continuing education units (CEUs) required, by AHIMA credential, is as follows:
·       CHPS – 1 CEU
·       CHDA – 6 CEUs
·       RHIT – 6 CEUs
·       RHIA – 6 CEUs
·       CDIP – 12 CEUs
·       CCS-P – 12 CEUs
·       CCS – 18 CEUs
·       CCA – 18 CEUs
Certificants who hold more than one AHIMA credential will only report the highest number of CEUs from among all credentials held. For example, if a certificant has both an RHIA and CCS, the certificant would normally report 40 (30 CEUs for RHIA and an additional 10 CEUs for CCS) CEUs per recertification cycle, and 18 of these CEUs will be required to cover ICD-10-CM/PCS. (Source:  (AHIMA, 2013)

1 comment: